Advisory Council

Landscape Architecture Department Advisory Council (LADAC)

The Cal Poly Landscape Architecture Advisory Council was formed in September 2001 to aid the Department in fulfilling its mission and goals. The Council consists of individuals who are leaders in the landscape architecture profession as well as business and community leaders who share a profound interest in furthering the mission of the Cal Poly Landscape Architecture Department.

Members include representatives from the design and planning professions, the green industry, developers, and government and public agencies that interact with the landscape architecture profession.

LADAC Meetings During the 2017 - 2018 School Year

 

Fall Quarter

November 3rd-4th, 2017

Winter Quarter

February 9th-10th, 2018

Spring Quarter

June 8th-9th, 2018

LADAC Members

Name Office Email
Ahlers, Christina

Girvin Associates

444 Magnolia Avenue, Suite 200

Larkspur, CA 94939

Phone: (415) 459-3443

ChristinaA@girvinassoc.net
Batchelder, Ed

City of Chula Vista Development Services Department
276 Fourth Avenue
Chula Vista, CA 91910

Phone: (619) 691-5005

batchbunch@cox.net
Bihan, René

SWA Group
301 Battery St., Two Mezzanine North San Francisco, CA 94111

Phone: (415) 836-8770

rbihan@swagroup.com
Buchanan, Paul

Buchanan Fieldworks

​5201 Clearbrook Drive

Concord, CA  94521

Phone: (925) 381-4993

paul@buchananfieldworks.com
Buxton, Kurt

Brightview Design Group
8 Hughes, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92618

Phone: (949) 238-4900

kbuxton@valleycrest.com
Carroll, Tyson

Urban Tree Foundation
700 E. Murray Avenue
Visalia, CA 93292

Phone: (559) 713-0631

tyson@urbantree.org
Cardoza, Perry

NUVIS Landscape Architecture
3151 Airway Ave.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626

Phone: (714) 754-7311, ext. 230

pcardoza@nuvis.net
Conger, Kevin

CMG Landscape Architecture
444 Bryant st. 
San Francisco, CA 94107

Phone: (415) 495-3070

kconger@cmgsite.com
Daley, Matt

McGuire and Hester
9009 Railroad Avenue
Oakland, CA 94603

Phone: (510) 254-5037

 

mdaley@mandhcorp.com
Degarmo, Chuck

BrightView Landscape Development
3242 Halladay Street
Santa Ana, CA 92705

Phone: (714) 327-5304, ext. 6104


chuck.degarmo@brightview.com
Durham, Matt

EPT DESIGN
9821 Irvine Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92618

Phone: (949) 502-4500

mdurham@eptdesign.com
Edmiston, Pam

American Landscape Companies
7013 Owensmouth Ave.
Canoga Park, CA 91303

Phone: (818) 999-2041

pedmiston@americanlandscape.com
Estrada, Vicki

Estrada Land Planning
225 Broadway, Suite 1160
San Diego, CA 92101

Phone: (619) 236-0143

vestrada@estradalandplan.com
Ferber, Jeff

RRM Design Group
3765 South Higuera Street,
Suite 102
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Phone: (805) 543-1794

jcferber@rrmdesign.com
Fletcher, Brian

Callander Associates
311 Seventh Avenue
San Mateo, CA 94401

Phone: (650) 375-1313

bfletcher@callanderassociates.com
Flores, Martin

Carrier Johnson + CULTURE
1301 Third Avenue

San Diego, CA 92101

Phone: (619) 239-2353 ext. 449

martin.steven.flores@gmail.com

msf@carrierjohnson.com

Gonzalez, Sandra

Director of Community Services

City of Placentia 

225 Harvard Lane
Seal Beach, CA 90704

Phone: (562) 343-4265

sandrajulie@hotmail.com

Hauser, Greg 

The HLA Group, Landscape Architects & Planners, Inc.

301 University Avenue, Suite 110

Sacramento, CA 95825

Phone: (916) 233-3465

ghauser@hlagroup.com
Hume, Rick T.

Frederick Thomas Hume
Landscape Architecture
2984 Mountain View Dr
Laguna Beach, CA 92651

Phone: (949) 376-3998

fth2nov8@cox.net
Lake, Amber

Spurlock Poirier Landscape Architects
2122 Hancock Street
San Diego, CA 92110

Phone: (619) 681-0090

alake@sp-land.com
Leehey, John

Danielian Associates Architecture + Planning
Sixty Corporate Park
Irvine, CA 92606

Phone: (949) 474-6030

jleehey@danielian.com
Marcillac, Paul

Stantec Architecture
555 Capitol Mall Suite 650
Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 669-5921

paul.marcillac@stantec.com
Mears, Scott

DesignLab 252
P.O. Box 27616
Fresno, CA 93729

Phone: (559) 472-9966

scott@designlab252.com
Miller, Baxter

BMLA Landscape Architecture
310 North Joy Street
Corona, CA 92879

Phone: (951) 737-1124, ext. 111

baxter@bmla.net
Miller, Courtney Jane

CJM::LA
300 East Canon Perdido, Suite C-2
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Phone: (805) 698-2120

courtney@cjm-la.com
Noll, Steve

Design Workshop
P.O. Box 5666, 128 Market Street, Suite 3E
Stateline, NV 89449

Phone: (775) 588-5929

snoll@designworkshop.com
Rudnyk, Katherine

AHBE Landscape Architects

617 W. Seventh Street, Suite 304

Los Angeles, CA 90017

Phone: (213) 694 3800, ext. 39


krudnyk@ahbe.com
Taylor, Jim

The Lightfoot Planning Group
5900 Pasteur Court, Suite 110
Carlsbad, CA 92008

Phone: (760) 692-1924, ext. 263

jim@lightfootpg.com
Victor, Jason

Ken Kay Associates
1045 Sansome Street, Studio 321
San Francisco, CA 94111

Phone: (415) 956-4472

jvictor@kenkaysf.com

LADAC Members - Emeritus and Level II

 

Name Office Email
Cutner, Ann (Level II)

IMA Design Group Inc.
20341 Birch Street, Suite 100
Newport Beach, CA 92660

Phone: (949) 954-7523

acutner@imadesign.com
Donnelly, Tom (Emeritus)

ValleyCrest Companies
24151 Ventura Blvd.
Calabasas, CA 91302

Phone: (818) 737-2600

tdonnelly@valleycrest.com
Lorge, Mark (Emeritus)

 

lorge.mark@gmail.com
Marquez, Dolores (Level II)

Marquez Consulting
10364 Pinecastle Street
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 271-5879

marquezconsulting@me.com

Student Representatives to LADAC

Shannon Saliba
Fifth Year Representative
Scott Sibley
Fourth Year Transfer Representative
Ryan Chase
Fourth Year Representative
Emilio Uranga III
Third Year Transfer Representative
Erin Anderson
Third Year Representative
Breanne Alton
Second Year Transfer Representative
Sophia Adema

Second Year Representative

LADAC Mission

The Council's mission is to provide advice, advocacy, access, and leverage to assist with the acquisition of needed resources for the Department.

LADAC Goals

  1. To provide advice and counsel to the Department Head.
  2. To provide input on the goals and objectives of the Department.
  3. To aid the Department Head and faculty in seeking public and private support for the programs of the Department.
  4. To enhance the communication between the Department and the world outside of the University.
  5. To help the Department retain and enhance its unique role as a leader in providing state-of-the-art and relevant education for tomorrow's landscape architecture professionals.
  6. To provide an understanding of the pulse and direction of the profession.
  7. To enhance access to the resources of the Department and College for the practicing professional, and vice-versa.
  8. To maintain liaison with the CAED Advisory Council.
  9. To maintain interaction with students and faculty of the department.

LADAC Student Achievement Award

The LADAC Student Achievement Award of $2,000 is given annually to a fourth-year student who best exemplifies skills that the LADAC considers important for future leaders in the profession. The award criteria is not based solely on academic achievement, social, or design skills, but also on the following:

Communication Skills - The ability to communicate effectively internally and externally with colleagues and others. The ability to communicate to a group under difficult circumstances, staying focused and positive.

Community Involvement - Contribution to both the local and the landscape architecture communities, such as SCASLA, ASLA, community service, and/or serving on boards, commissions, or other volunteer efforts.

Leadership Skills - Volunteers or is elected to accept a challenge and follows through to the completion of the task or assignment. Has the integrity and leadership qualities such that others follow without contention or receiving rewards. One who rises up to the top with the sole purpose of reaching a common goal and who continuously demonstrates a positive attitude.

Candidates for this award are selected by the Landscape Architecture department faculty based on who they feel best meets the award criteria. The selected candidates are asked to prepare a short essay (1 -2 pages) that demonstrates how the candidate believes he or she meets the award criteria. The essays are sent to the LADAC Chair prior to the LADAC's Winter Quarter visit. The selected candidates are interviewed by the LADAC during their Winter Quarter visit, with interviews lasting approximately 20 - 30 minutes. Portfolios are not required; resumes are required.

The recipient, as determined by the LADAC, receives the $2,000 award at a Spring or Fall awards ceremony. The recipient is required to attend a predetermined LADAC quarterly meeting to discuss how the award has been applied to the academic, social, or financial progress of the recipient.

LADAC Student Support Internship

The LADAC annually awards $1,500 to a selected student (or $750 to each of two students if they wish to work as a team) who is willing to further the ongoing programs of LADAC. The level of effort expected under this program will be roughly equivalent to 80-100 hours of service. The program provides direct and indirect interaction with the professional members of LADAC as well as with faculty of the LA department. This is an excellent opportunity to strengthen your resume, make important contacts, and acquire relevant experience that will also assist the department and students. In order to be considered for this program, students must be in at least their second year within the LA program. They must also submit a written proposal, turned into the department office by the deadline date established by the LADAC each academic year.

 

 

Related Content

Scholarships

LARCH and Other Scholarships

Apply for Scholarships

Opportunities

Jobs, Internships and more

Jobs & Internships

Gallery

Gallery of Student Work

Check out Current Work

Giving

Your support is appreciated

Give to LARCH