Student Clubs

In addition to the Landscape Architecture clubs listed below, there are other clubs supported by each department and the CAED that can be found on the CAED Student Clubs web page.

Student Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (SCASLA)

The ASLA student chapter is a student organization that is affiliated with the American Society of Landscape Architects. Our mission is to promote education, community involvement, student activities, a sense of spirit and pride, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments. ASLA involvement is quite extensive -- from community clean-ups, Habitats for Humanity, Open House activities, garden show exhibits, national professional and student conference participation, interdisciplinary activities, and inviting guest speakers to share their knowledge.

To learn more about SCASLA, connect with the club on Instagram or send the club an email at

Academic Year 2023-2024 Officers

President: Neil Hudson
Vice President: April Beall
Secretary: Hannah Huntley
Treasurer: Quinn Gunderson
Event Coordinator: Josh Schneider

David Watts, Associate Professor:

SCASLA Newsletter: OnSite

Vol. 1 - W2024

Sigma Lambda Alpha Honor Society - Theta Chapter (SLA)

This National Honor Society for Landscape Architecture students invites for membership those students with a 3.5 GPA and higher. The activities of the Cal Poly SLO Theta Chapter are geared toward academic and professional development, such as inviting outside professionals to come in for reviews of projects or lectures. Overall, Chapter members try to encourage students to perform well and inspire them toward the professional world of landscape architecture.

Academic and travel scholarships are also available to members of Sigma Lambda Alpha. To receive an application packet, please contact Miran Day, Sigma Lambda Alpha advisor.

Academic Year 2023-2024 Officers

President: Sophia Napier
Vice President: Jack McCarthy

Miran Day, Associate Professor:

The National Association of Minority Landscape Architects

The National Association of Minority Landscape Architects (NAMLA) aims to increase minority representation at all levels of landscape architecture within the practice and academia. Our mission is to create a collaborative space for students to share ideas and create a collaborative community regarding topics within the landscape architecture field. Activities within the club include guest lectures from professors and professionals, as well as social events to help students build stronger connections with their peers and the faculty. We have some exciting activities planned this year, and we look forward to seeing you at our next meeting!

Check out our Instagram @calpolynamla, the website, or email for more information!

Academic Year 2023-2024 Board Members:

President: Alex Campbell
Vice President: Jennifer Barrita
Secretary: Aiden Pahuamba
Treasurer: Hadasa Villalta
Media & Graphics: Kaiya Suehiro
Event Coordinator: Josh Schneider

Ellen Burke, Associate Professor:


Back To Top

Related Content


LARCH and Other Scholarships

Apply for Scholarships


Jobs, Internships and more

Jobs & Internships


Gallery of Student Work

Check out Current Work


Your support is appreciated

Give to LARCH