Advisory Council

Landscape Architecture Department Advisory Council (LADAC)

The Cal Poly Landscape Architecture Advisory Council was formed in September 2001 to aid the Department in fulfilling its mission and goals. The Council consists of individuals who are leaders in the landscape architecture profession as well as business and community leaders who share a profound interest in furthering the mission of the Cal Poly Landscape Architecture Department.

Members include representatives from the design and planning professions, the green industry, developers, and government and public agencies that interact with the landscape architecture profession.

LADAC Meetings During the 2023-24 School Year

Fall Quarter
November 3-4, 2023

Winter Quarter
March 15-16, 2024

Spring Quarter
May 3-4, 2024

LADAC Members

Name Office Email
Armstrong, Martin

landARCH619

Studio Director

ASLA San Diego Chapter President, 2023

Phone:  (805) 794-5525

ArmstrongLandDevelopment@gmail.com
Batchelder, Ed

Retired 
Chula Vista, CA 91910

Phone: (619) 691-5005

batchbunch@cox.net
Buxton, Kurt

Brightview Design Group
8 Hughes, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92618

Phone: (949) 238-4900

kurt.buxton@brightview.com
Callan, Michael

Michael Callan Landscape Architect
63 Bovet Rd. #314
San Mateo, CA 94402

Phone: (650) 888-9029

mike@michaelcallan.com
Cardoza, Perry

NUVIS Landscape Architecture
20250 SW Acacia St.

Suite 260

Newport Beach, CA 92660

Phone: (714) 754-7311 ext. 230

pcardoza@nuvis.net
Carroll, Tyson

Urban Tree Foundation
700 E. Murray Avenue
Visalia, CA 93292

Phone: (559) 713-0631

tyson@urbantree.org
Cawrse, Sarah

RiNo Art District, BID/GID

1320 27th St. Ste G

Denver, CO 80205

Phone: (970) 297-8843

sarah@rinoartdistrict.org

Chiang, Jordan

EDSA
1512 E Broward Blvd, Unit 110
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Phone: (954) 524-3330

jchiang@edsaplan.com
Conger, Kevin

CMG Landscape Architecture
444 Bryant st. 
San Francisco, CA 94107

Phone: (415) 495-3070

kconger@cmgsite.com
Cunningham, Daniel

SWA Group
530 Bush Street, 6th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108

Phone: (415) 293- 1503

dcunningham@swagroup.com
Daley, Matt

McGuire and Hester

2810 Harbor Bay Parkway

Alameda CA 94502

Phone: (510) 632-7676

mdaley@mcguireandhester.com
Dunn, Breanne

Pacific Coast Land Design

461 E Main St.

Ventura, CA 91355

Phone: (805) 715-4327

breanne@pc-ld.com
El-Kindiy, Mwinyi

Nibbi Brothers

1000 Brannan

San Francisco, CA 94103

Phone: (415) 863-1820

MwinyiE@nibbi.com

Fatolahzadeh, Tala

City of San Jose
200 East Santa Clara St.
San Jose, CA 95113
tala.fatolahzadeh@sanjoseca.gov
Ferber, Jeff

RRM Design Group
3765 South Higuera Street,
Suite 102
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Phone: (805) 543-1794

jcferber@rrmdesign.com
Fletcher, Brian

Callander Associates
1633 Bayshore Highway 

Ste 133
Burlingame, CA 94010

Phone: (650) 375-1313

bfletcher@callanderassociates.com
Flores, Martin Retired - City of San Diego
4734 Miracle Drive
San Diego, CA 92115
Phone (619) 648-0985

martin.steven.flores@gmail.com

Hauser, Greg 

The HLA Group, Landscape

Architects & Planners, Inc.
555 University Avenue

Suite 154
Sacramento, CA 95825

Phone: (916) 233-3465

ghauser@hlagroup.com
Janecki, Joni

Joni L. Janecki & Associates 
515 Swift Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Phone: (831) 423-6040

jlj@jlja.com

Jones, Steven M.

Integral Communities

530 Zenith Ridge Drive
Danville, CA 94506
Phone: (925) 522-9711
sjones@integralcommunities.com
Lake, Amber

Carrier Johnson + Culture
185 West F Street, Ste 500
San Diego, CA 92101

Phone: (619) 239-2353 ext. 484

all@carrierjohnson.com
Lee, Ken

Saddleback College

28000 Marguerite Parkway

Mission Viejo, California 92692

Phone: (949) 348-6180

klee@saddleback.edu
Lindgren, Conard

PWP Landscape Architecture

1527 Morton St.

Alameda, CA 94501

Phone: (510) 326-3537

conardlindgren@live.com
Marcillac, Paul

Stantec Architecture
555 Capitol Mall Suite 650
Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 996-2977

paul.marcillac@stantec.com
McAskile, Ian

Maglin Site Furniture

Woodstock, ON (Canada)

(800) 716-5506 ext. 226

imcaskile@maglin.com
Mears, Scott

DesignLab 252
P.O. Box 27616
Fresno, CA 93729

Phone: (559) 472-9966

scott@designlab252.com
Miller, Courtney Jane

CJM::LA
1221 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Phone: (805) 698-2120

courtney@cjm-la.com
Noll, Steve

Design Workshop
P.O. Box 5666, 128 Market Street

Suite 3E
Stateline, NV 89449

Phone: (775) 588-5929

snoll@designworkshop.com
Perez, Annie

GroundLevel Landscape Architecture Inc.

2605 State Street, Ste B

San Diego, CA 92103

Phone: (619) 325-1990

aperez@groundlevelsd.com
Romero, Matt

Studio-MLA

251 South Mission Road

Los Angeles, CA 90033

Phone: (213) 384-3844

matthew@studio-mla.com
Samynathan, Sarah

Terremoto

300 Brannan Street, Unit 402

San Francisco, CA 94107

sarah@terremoto.la
Schmiedeberg, Brandon

Schmiedeberg Designs

1619 16th St.

Los Osos, CA 93402

Phone: (858) 967-6217

schmiedeberg15@gmail.com
Sola, Jane

Lloyd Sports + Engineering 
Northern California

Phone: (513) 655-4354 

jsola@lloydengineers.com
Straabe, Nick

Hunter Industries

1840 La Costa Meadows Dr, San Marcos, CA 92078

Phone: (714) 717-1689

nstraabe@gmail.com
Tatarka, Ken

McGuire and Hester

2810 Harbor Bay Parkway 

Alameda, CA 94502

(510) 359-6784

ktatarka@mcguireandhester.com

Taylor, Jim

                       

The Lightfoot Planning Group
5900 Pasteur Court

Suite 110
Carlsbad, CA 92008

Phone: (760) 692-1924, ext. 263

jim@lightfootpg.com

Taylor, Matthew

Brightview Design Group
8 Hughes, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92618

Phone: (949) 238-4900

matthew.taylor@brightview.com
Victor, Jason

KayVictor

329 Bryant St. Ste 1C

San Francisco, CA 94107

Phone: (415) 956-4472

jvictor@kayvictor.com
Wickham, Andrew 

LPA Inc. 
431 I Street, Suite 107 
Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 287-2326

awickham@lpadesignstudios.com
Wilkins, Matthew

Wallace Group

612 Clarion Ct.

San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Phone: (760) 220-6811

mattw@wallacegroup.com

LADAC Members - Emeritus and Level II

 

Name Office Email
Donnelly, Tom (Emeritus)

ValleyCrest Companies
24151 Ventura Blvd.
Calabasas, CA 91302

Phone: (818) 737-2600

tdonnelly@valleycrest.com
Edmiston, Pam (Emeritus) Phone: (661) 430-3988 pam.edmiston1@gmail.com
Estrada, Vicki (Emeritus)

Estrada Land Planning
225 Broadway, Suite 1160
San Diego, CA 92101

Phone: (619) 236-0143

vestrada@estradalandplan.com
Lorge, Mark (Emeritus)

 

lorge.mark@gmail.com

2023-24 Student Representatives to LADAC

Karis Lawson; Jessica Baiza

Fifth Year Representatives

Kimberly Garcia Arechiga

Fourth Year Representative

Lindsey Langan

Third Year Representative

Josh Schneider

Second Year Representative

Chris Hallmark

First Year Transfer Representative

Dylan Tawata

First Year Representative

LADAC Mission

The Council's mission is to provide advice, advocacy, access, and leverage to assist with the acquisition of needed resources for the Department.

LADAC Goals

  1. To provide advice and counsel to the Department Head.
  2. To provide input on the goals and objectives of the Department.
  3. To aid the Department Head and faculty in seeking public and private support for the programs of the Department.
  4. To enhance the communication between the Department and the world outside of the University.
  5. To help the Department retain and enhance its unique role as a leader in providing state-of-the-art and relevant education for tomorrow's landscape architecture professionals.
  6. To provide an understanding of the pulse and direction of the profession.
  7. To enhance access to the resources of the Department and College for the practicing professional, and vice-versa.
  8. To maintain liaison with the CAED Advisory Council.
  9. To maintain interaction with students and faculty of the department.

LADAC Student Achievement Award

The LADAC Student Achievement Award of $2,000 is given annually to a fourth-year student who best exemplifies skills that the LADAC considers important for future leaders in the profession. The award criteria is not based solely on academic achievement, social, or design skills, but also on the following:

Communication Skills - The ability to communicate effectively internally and externally with colleagues and others. The ability to communicate to a group under difficult circumstances, staying focused and positive.

Community Involvement - Contribution to both the local and the landscape architecture communities, such as SCASLA, ASLA, community service, and/or serving on boards, commissions, or other volunteer efforts.

Leadership Skills - Volunteers or is elected to accept a challenge and follows through to the completion of the task or assignment. Has the integrity and leadership qualities such that others follow without contention or receiving rewards. One who rises up to the top with the sole purpose of reaching a common goal and who continuously demonstrates a positive attitude.

Candidates for this award are selected by the Landscape Architecture department faculty based on who they feel best meets the award criteria. The selected candidates are asked to prepare a short essay (1 -2 pages) that demonstrates how the candidate believes he or she meets the award criteria. The essays are sent to the LADAC Chair prior to the LADAC's Winter Quarter visit. The selected candidates are interviewed by the LADAC during their Winter Quarter visit, with interviews lasting approximately 20 - 30 minutes. Portfolios are not required; resumes are required.

The recipient, as determined by the LADAC, receives the $2,000 award at a Spring or Fall awards ceremony. The recipient is required to attend a predetermined LADAC quarterly meeting to discuss how the award has been applied to the academic, social, or financial progress of the recipient.

LADAC Student Support Internship

The LADAC annually awards $1,500 to a selected student (or $750 to each of two students if they wish to work as a team) who is willing to further the ongoing programs of LADAC. The level of effort expected under this program will be roughly equivalent to 80-100 hours of service. The program provides direct and indirect interaction with the professional members of LADAC as well as with faculty of the LA department. This is an excellent opportunity to strengthen your resume, make important contacts, and acquire relevant experience that will also assist the department and students. In order to be considered for this program, students must be in at least their second year within the LA program. They must also submit a written proposal, turned into the department office by the deadline date established by the LADAC each academic year.

 

 

Related Content

Scholarships

LARCH and Other Scholarships

Apply for Scholarships

Opportunities

Jobs, Internships and more

Jobs & Internships

Gallery

Gallery of Student Work

Check out Current Work

Giving

Your support is appreciated

Give to LARCH